When you are invited to join a clinic in Video Call as the clinic administrator you will receive an email to create your account. Click on the ‘Create your account’ button in your registration email and you will be taken to a page that asks for your name (this will appear on your account so please use you own name) and for you to set up your personal password – it must have at least 13 characters but there are no rules around letters, numbers or special characters.
Please note: It is best practice to have your account set up with your own email address rather than a generic address. This way you have control over your account and can reset your password at any time, if required. You can use a personal email address to set up your account if you don't have a specific work email address.
Don’t forget to save the sign in page to your ‘Bookmarks’ or ‘Favourites’ so it’s easy to sign in every day.
After signing in, you will be in your virtual waiting area. On the left-hand side there is a dark-grey panel with the area you are currently showing as a darker colour to make it stand out (for example the Waiting Area). If you click on ‘Configure’ (underneath Waiting Area) it will take you to a page where you will see menu headings for configuration options across the top of the page – Clinic, Team Members, Call Quality, Waiting Experience, Joining A Call, Call Interface, Waiting Area and Reporting Configuration.
It is not essential that you set up all these sections before your first Video Call. In case you’re in a hurry we’ve categorised these as:
- Essential configuration tabs – clinic, team members, waiting area
- Optional configuration tabs – call interface, call quality, waiting experience, joining a call, reporting configuration
Essential configuration tasks for Clinic Administrators:
The ‘Clinic name’ and ‘Unique domain’ are already pre-populated from the information you provided in the registration form and they rarely need to be changed. Your unique domain is part of the web link that you will send to patients so they can have a Video Call consultation, so you shouldn't change this after you have started making Video Call appointments and sending out the clinic link. If you do change anything make sure you click on the ‘Save’ button at the bottom of the page.
You can add your logo, if desired, so that it appears in the waiting screen for patients, or you can do this later.
It is advisable to add a support contact (this may be your admin staff/receptionist or telehealth manager) so that your team members know who to contact if they have any questions regarding Video Call. These support details will appear in the clinic waiting area in the right hand side column.
See step-by-step instructions (with screenshots) for how to configure your clinic.
This is where you add the health service providers and any other staff working in your clinic, so they can access Video Call. Permissions are pre-selected for waiting areas and meeting rooms (see information about room types) when adding members and admin staff. We suggest you keep User Rooms deselected (which is the default) as these are not necessary to consult with a patient or client.
Health service providers should be set up as ‘team members’. Don’t forget to set up at least one other person as an ‘administrator’ in case you are on leave.
See step-by-step instructions (with screenshots) for how to configure team members.
After you have invited your team members, make sure each person logs in, sets their 13-character password and can access the clinic waiting area. They can edit their profile at any time to include a photo or change their name, username or password.
See step-by-step instructions (with screenshots) for how to configure all sections of your waiting area.
General configuration – make sure you select the correct ‘Time zone’ – scroll down the dropdown list to ‘Australia’ and select the timezone that matches where you are located.
Waiting area hours – don’t put your usual clinic hours in the waiting area hours, before considering when Video Call will be used. If health service providers are likely to use Video Call after hours or on the weekend then it is best to set the waiting area hours as 24/7 access (to do this make every day start at 00 00 and finish at 24 00). If the waiting area is closed, your patients, clients and any other callers cannot access it for a consultation. If your clinic closes at 5pm but clinicians regularly work until 6 or 7pm, then it is best to have your Video Call waiting area close at 7pm or later to accommodate any consultations that go over time.
Entry fields – these are fields that patients will be asked to complete when they come into a Video Call consultation. Video Call always asks patients for their first name and last name (so you don’t need to configure this). In this section you add other fields for patients to complete. A field for phone number is already set up but you can remove it if it is not required. Click here for more detailed information.
Automated messages – can be sent to patients/clients after they enter the Video Call waiting area. You don’t have to include any automated messages but consider a welcome message or a message after 10 minutes (600 seconds) apologising for the delay. You can also send your own personalised notifications from the waiting area dashboard.
You can now start holding healthdirect Video Calls or continue configuring the ‘Optional configuration tasks’. If you want to start making calls, go to Step 3: Getting your patients started with Video Call and Step 4: Conduct a healthdirect Video Call.
Optional configuration tasks
There are a range of pre-installed apps that provide powerful features and extensions to Video Call. See step-by-step instructions (with screenshots) for how to customise apps.
You can configure Video Call to reflect your corporate branding with colours and a logo. See step-by-step instructions (with screenshots) for how to configure your call interface.
You only need to configure the call quality if you are noticing issues with your call quality. See step-by-step instructions (with screenshots) for how to configure your call quality.
There are various styles of music that you can choose for your waiting area. Your patients/clients will hear the music when they are in the waiting area – each patient can also change the music to suit their taste while they wait. You can also configure audio announcements in this section, which play for your patients at the prescribed time since they joined the waiting area (please note you will need to have the audio announcements recorded and saved as mp3 files before you can configure them to play as part of the waiting experience). See step-by-step instructions (with screenshots) for how to configure waiting music and audio announcements.
Joining a call
In this section you can specify whether a photo is required for guests when joining a call in a meeting room (photos are not necessary for waiting area consultations). You can also make the last name field for patients mandatory and give patients/clients the option to mute their microphone and/or camera while waiting. See more information and steps for configuring the joining a call section.
Share waiting area – there are different ways to provide your patients with entry to your waiting area – you can send them a weblink or send them to your website where they click on a button.