Healthdirect Australia Help Center

    The Video Call consultation screen and controls

    This page is for all Video Call account holders

    When you join a video call, the Video Call Screen opens in a new browser window and shows all participants in the call as well as the various screen controls and functionality options. Please see below for a detailed look at the call screen and the functionality available during a call.

    Detailed information regarding the Video Call screen:

    While in a call, you will see all participants in their own window - you can have up to 6 people in a single Video Call.
    By default, when you first join a call with a patient or client, you will appear in the smaller screen and they will appear in a larger screen to the right.



    The are a few options for the call screen windows:
    1. The default view with your screen smaller and to the left. In calls with multiple participants the individual video screens will arrange themselves and be smaller in size.
    2. You can minimise your screen by clicking on the the symbol at top right of your window, which shows as two arrows. This minimises your screen considerably and you can focus on the view of your patient. At any time you can click on the the outward arrows in your minimised screen to expand it back out again.
    3. Hide your video using the Collapse your video button in your minimised screen (highlighted in red in the example to the right)

    For calls with multiple participants you can go into Settings and select your preferred Layout:

    • Classic
    • Grid

    Whichever layout you choose will carry through to your next Video Call (your last setting will persist into future calls until changed).

    Default call screen with 2 particpants

    Your video minimised with the hide video button highlighted
    Please note: your self view is designed to be mirrored, so you will see your view as backwards but other participants will see everything the correct way around. This example screenshot of a call screen shows the local self view at bottom left to illustrate this.


    Along the bottom of the call screen you will see various call control buttons:
    • Settings 
    • Hang up
    • Refresh 
    • Microphone
    • Camera
    • Lock (if enabled in your clinic by your clinic admin)
    • Switch camera
    • Help
    • Chat
    • Call Manager
    • Apps and Tools

    Please see below for details on each of these buttons and their functionality



    Settings 

    Clicking on the settings icon opens up Device, Video Quality, Layout, Language and Advanced options.

    Device Settings

    Click to change the settings for your device. Select your preferred option from the dropdown menus:

    • camera 
    • microphone
    • speaker

    Other settings

    • video quality 
    • layout 
      • Select how participants are displayed in multi participant calls)
      • Grid view works well for calls with 3 or more participants
    • change language
    • change audio behaviours

     

    Please note: You can switch camera using the keyboard shortcut Alt-N

    Find out more about Changing Your Video Quality Settings in a Call.

    Language Settings

    Select your preferred language from the drop-down options. This changes the call controls within your current call and all future calls to your selected language preference. This can be changed at any time.

    Select Layout
    Select your preferred layout for the call screen with multiple participants


    Select camera

    Select microphone

    Select speaker

    Select video quality

    Language Settings

        
    Select Layout


    Hang up
    Click to either Leave the Call or End the Call: 
    • Leave call: when in a call with one other participant it puts that participant on hold in the waiting area. If in a call with more than one other participant, when you leave the call will continue for the other participants.
    • End call: ends the call for all participants.
     
    Refresh
    If your connection drops out, or the video freezes for a prolonged period, click the Refresh button to re-establish connection with all callers.
    Microphone
    Click on the microphone icon to mute and unmute yourself in the call, if required.
    Camera
    Click on the camera icon to turn your camera off and on during the call, if required.
    Switch Camera
    Click to switch your camera if you have more than one available.
    Lock Call
    If enabled by the clinic admin in the clinic, click on the Lock icon to lock the call so other team members cannot click on the Join button in the waiting area.
    To find out more about locking and unlocking calls, click here.
    Advanced Options 
    Click on Change Audio Behaviours to access noise suppression settings. Click on noise suppression to toggle on and off (on displays a green tick). Having noise suppression on helps the quality of the call by cancelling background sounds.
    There is generally no requirement to touch this setting and it is configured to be 'On' for all calls by default. Please note: When toggled off, users can make repetitive sounds without the system dampening or cancelling the noise out. This is useful, for example, when conducting speech pathology consultations where the patient or clinician needs to make repetitive noises other than normal speech.

    Apps & Tools
    Share resources into your Video Call to enhance your consultation.
    For detailed information on Apps & Tools, refer to the Apps& Tools page
    Chat
    Click on the chat icon to send messages within the call. All participants can see and type chat messages.

    Type out the text in the field and press Enter to send a chat message.




    Call Manager
    The Call Manager enables you to:
    • invite participants into the current call via email or SMS
    • transfer the current call to another Waiting Area
    • remove individual participants from the current call, if required. 

    For detailed information about the Call Manager, please click here.


    Can’t find what you’re looking for?

    Email support

    or speak to the Video Call team on 1800 580 771

    Internal Content